top of page

IVS Excellence Award for Research

We are proud to announce call for nominations for 
IVS-IPSTA 2024 Excellence Award for Research

Deadline June 30, 2024

IVS-2024Excellence Award for Research

The IVS-2024 Excellence Award for Research recognizes scientists who conduct outstanding internationally-acclaimed research in the fields that are fostered and encouraged by the IVS, as evidenced in symposia and other activities sponsored by the society. These include, but are not limited to, photovoltaics, thin films, electronic materials and processing, surfaces, plasma, and vacuum sciences, hydrides, crystal growth, plasmonics, and nanostructures.

The Israel Vacuum Society (IVS), Science, Technology and Applications, will award the IVS Excellence Award for Research in the upcoming IVS-IPSTA annually conference.

A monetary prize and a commemorative plaque will be presented to the winner at the IVS Annual Meeting — October 28, 2024.


  • The prize shall be awarded to scientists who, while working in their fields, have also contributed substantially to disseminating their knowledge and inspiring new technological applications.

  • Types of activities to be considered include scientific articles, books, and conference presentations on national and international levels.

  • The prize is limited to candidates currently engaged in active research.

  • Past participation in IVS activities — a plus.



Eligible individuals include scientists in Israel who have accomplished outstanding experimental or theoretical research in fields indicated above in Israel within the five years preceding the nomination. The nominee must be a member in good standing with the IVS on the date the prize is received. The prize will normally be given to an individual nominee; however, multiple prizes may be considered in exceptional cases. Employees, officers, and current members of the executive committees of IVS and its affiliate societies are not eligible.


Nominations may be made by IVS affiliate organizations, universities, government agencies, and research organizations. Self-nominations are not accepted. Prior nomination does not exclude a candidate from consideration in subsequent years.

Nomination Procedures

All nominations must be received by June 26, 2024


The nominator should provide:

  1. Name, position, institution, professional address and e-mail, professional phone and fax, home address, and home phone number of the candidate.

  2. A one-sentence synopsis of the reasons for selecting the nominee.

  3. Name, position, institution, and professional address and phone of the nominator.

  4. A statement describing the work for which the prize is proposed and indicating the role of the work in solving particular scientific problems and the significance of the problems. The candidate's individual role in collaborative research should be clearly stated. The statement should not exceed two pages in length.

  5. A list of at least two Israeli and two non-Israeli supporting individuals whom IVS may contact for more information on the candidate.

  6. At least one representative sample which illustrates the nominee's contribution. Books, scientific articles, and other materials are appropriate.

  7. A statement made by the candidate confirming that if elected, the candidate agrees to attend the ceremony at the IVS annual meeting and to present a short general lecture on that occasion.

  8. Short CV.

All materials become the property of IVS.



Applications should be sent by email to

Email title should be: “The IVS-2024 Excellence Award for Research”.

The nominator will receive an email confirmation of receipt of application material​.

bottom of page